Tentera Laut Diraja Malaysia

The Royal Malaysian Navy can trace its roots to the formation of the Straits Settlement Royal Naval Volunteer Reserve (SSRNVR) in Singapore on 27 April 1934 by the British colonial government in Singapore.

The Malay Navy, manned by indigenous Malay personnel (similarly, the Malays were recruited into the fledgling Malay Regiment formed in 1936). The Malay Navy had a strength of 400 men who received their training at HMS Pelandok, the Royal Navy training establishment in Malaya.

In August 1952, Queen Elizabeth II bestowed the title "Royal Malayan Navy" on the Malayan Naval Force in recognition of its sterling service in action during the Malayan Emergency.

The Royal Malaysian Navy has been patrolling the Gulf of Aden to thwart piracy since 2009.On January 2011, the navy foiled a hijacking attempt against the Malaysian-flagged MT Bunga Laurel chemical tanker carrying lubricating oil and ethylene dichloride.

Following the Sulu militants intrusion, a military conflict standoff started on 11 February 2013 until 24 March 2013 after 235 militants, most of whom were armed, arrived by boats in Lahad Datu, Sabah, Malaysia from Simunul island, Tawi-Tawi in the southern Philippines on 11 February 2013.

The Royal Malaysian Navy enforced a naval blockade during and after the standoff to ensure that no more Sulu militants would be able to reach Sabah. The assets allocated for the blockade included KD Jebat, KD Perak, KD Todak, among many others. As well as enforced a naval special warfare unit for joint operations with army, air force and police commandos to track down and neutralise any militants left after the bloody 2013 standoff.